Plumtopia

Home » Plumtopia » Finding Plumtopia » I have dyspepsia!

I have dyspepsia!

Join 1,085 other followers

Egg, Bean & Crumpet counter

  • 100,543 old beans

Follow via Twitter

Honoria at Goodreads

About Me

honoria plum

honoria plum

My personal quest is the search for a life inspired by the literature of P.G Wodehouse. Plumtopia celebrates this quest with other Wodehouse fans.

Personal Links

Verified Services

View Full Profile →

Blogs I Follow

The Plumtopians

18053Yesterday I received the Doctor’s diagnosis of an ailment that has been troubling me for some time. I have dyspepsia!

I don’t suppose a doctor ever received such a joyous response to this news as mine did. I practically whooped around the surgery. For now, I can read my favourite poem, by Lancelot Mulliner in ‘Came the Dawn’, with the added poignancy of personal suffering.

DARKLING (A Threnody)
By L. BASSINGTON MULLINER
(Copyright in all languages, including the Scandinavian)

Black branches,
Like a corpse’s withered hands,
Waving against the blacker sky:
Chill winds,
Bitter like the tang of half-remembered sins;
Bats wheeling mournfully through the air,
And on the ground
Worms,
Toads,
Frogs,
And nameless creeping things;
And all around
Desolation,
Doom,
Dyspepsia,
And Despair.
I am a bat that wheels through the air of Fate;
I am a worm that wriggles in a swamp of Disillusionment ;
I am a despairing toad;
I have got dyspepsia.

from: Came the Dawn (Meet Mr Mulliner )

The physician stopped short of prescribing Mulliner’s Buck-U-Uppo, but I suppose one can’t have everything.

HP

10 Comments

  1. Great poem 🙂 I wish you a speedy recovery from the dyspepsia all the same!

  2. I suppose you hope this will get you recognised at Droitgate Spa.

  3. Paul Kelleher says:

    At least you are one step closer to becoming an American millionaire.

  4. XD I just realized why you knew which book I meant! Well said, tally ho.

  5. ashokbhatia says:

    What amazing luck. Have you started collecting any scarabs yet?

Leave a Reply

Valentine’s Day

February 14th, 2016
P.G. Wodehouse died on this day 1975

P.G. Wodehouse’s Birthday

October 15th, 2016
P.G. Wodehouse was born on this day (1881)

Wodehouse Society Convention

Washington DCOctober 19th, 2017
85 days to go.
PG Wodehouse the Satirist

The comic genius in the guise of a satirist

Ook's Book Club

An online library book club.

Robert Pimm

Novels, short stories, reviews, ideas

THE JUNIOR GANYMEDE LIBRARY

Wallowing in Wodehouse

The Denver of the Secret Nine

Celebrate P.G. Wodehouse at altitude

Jessica Fellowes

Author & Speaker

Adventures Of a Traveller

The Journey is the Destination

John Lagrue's Blog

Musings on life

THAT'S ENTERTAINMENT!

Your Opinionated Consumer Reports for Sitcoms (and Other Feel-Good Fun)

