Plumtopia

Home » Writer's Workbook » Other writers » A snowball in hell

A snowball in hell

A Snowball in Hell  by Christopher Brookmyre was recommended to me by someone who thought I’d like it because it was shortlisted for the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize.

I am always open to suggestions about modern writers I might enjoy, but as a general rule I rarely read modern novels. So the first chapter of  ‘Snowball’  was quite a culture shock. Brookmyre certainly bears no resemblance to Wodehouse!

Snowball is the story of a serial killer who decides to host his own online reality show, in which captured B-List celebrities are ‘bumped off’ according to viewer votes.

Unexpectedly, I found myself enjoying it right to the end. Brookmyre’s style and characters were fascinating and, as I loathe celebrity culture and reality TV, I could even derive grim satisfaction from the sicko plot.

I’m not easily offended, so I would try Brookmyre again, out of curiosity as much as anything else.

HP

 

3 Comments

  1. honoria plum says:

    Reblogged this on Honoria's Bookshelf and commented:

    One of my early reviews, posted at my Plumtopia page.

  2. ‘as a general rule I rarely read modern novels’

    Yes. So many of them are badly written or just plain sordid.

    I was similarly recommended a most unpleasant book for similar reasons. After the first chapter I gave it to a friend. The first party protested that it was written by a woman so the things described were alright. As far as I was concerned, I felt that made it worse.

    You obviously have a greater toleration than me. I can’t overlook subject matter at the expense of style: it doesn’t matter how amusingly someone writes about the things done to Jews in the 1930s, for example, it’s still distasteful – and fundamentally wrong.

    For myself, I think there’s so much real nastiness happening in the world, why would I want to pollute my mind with its fictional equivalent in addition? Surely that’s the very antithesis of P G Wodehouse’s world?

    Reading should elevate, not debase.

    • honoria plum says:

      Couldn’t agree with you more. People describe Wodehouse’s world as an idyllic, fantasy world. I see it as a benchmark of what we should be searching to create.

Leave a Reply

Valentine’s Day

February 14th, 2016
P.G. Wodehouse died on this day 1975

P.G. Wodehouse’s Birthday

October 15th, 2016
P.G. Wodehouse was born on this day (1881)

Wodehouse Society Convention

Washington DCOctober 19th, 2017
86 days to go.
PG Wodehouse the Satirist

The comic genius in the guise of a satirist

Ook's Book Club

An online library book club.

Robert Pimm

Novels, short stories, reviews, ideas

THE JUNIOR GANYMEDE LIBRARY

Wallowing in Wodehouse

The Denver of the Secret Nine

Celebrate P.G. Wodehouse at altitude

Jessica Fellowes

Author & Speaker

Adventures Of a Traveller

The Journey is the Destination

John Lagrue's Blog

Musings on life

THAT'S ENTERTAINMENT!

Your Opinionated Consumer Reports for Sitcoms (and Other Feel-Good Fun)

