Plumtopia

Home » Writer's Workbook » Other writers » Bulldog Drummond

Bulldog Drummond

Join 1,010 other followers

Egg, Bean & Crumpet counter

  • 85,689 old beans

Follow via Twitter

Honoria at Goodreads

About Me

honoria plum

honoria plum

My personal quest is the search for a life inspired by the literature of P.G Wodehouse. Plumtopia celebrates this quest with other Wodehouse fans.

Personal Links

Verified Services

View Full Profile →

Blogs I Follow

The Plumtopians

Derring don’t! 

I started Bulldog Drummond keenly,  anticipating a good, old-fashioned adventure with lashings of `derring do’. I’m a big fan of the genre, with John Buchan‘s The Thirty-Nine Steps and G.K. Chesterton‘s The Man Who Was Thursday among my favourites. As a further enticement, P.G. Wodehouse borrowed from the plot in one of my favourite novels, Leave it to Psmith.

When a reader embarks on a novel with as much good-will as I did, one is prepared to overlook minor issues of style, plot and characterisation. In the first chapter, I made `allowances’ for the patronising, simpleton dialogue given to Mr and Mrs Denny, Drummond’s servants. They at least fare better than the Germans in the novel, who are credited with little more than grunting speech and greedy expressions.

Understanding that Sapper wrote Bulldog Drummond shortly after the First World War provides some context for its anti-German sentiments (although many allied soldiers could empathise with their fellow foot soldiers in the opposite trenches). But my willingness to make allowances was seriously disturbed by a flashback to Dummond’s nocturnal adventures into no-man’s land, where he indulges a psychopathic enjoyment of killing. He continues to indulge his murderous urges throughout the peace-time events of the story. Most of the killings in the novel are unnecessary, and unnecessarily brutal.

The story has some exciting moments, but the plot is thin, and its purpose too obvious to be enjoyed. I’m curious about the film adaptations though. It might work better on the big screen, where an hour or two spent enjoying an implausible adventure is easier to justify. However I don’t think I’ll spend any more reading time with Sapper’s psychopath hero. Not when there is more Buchan and Chesterton to be had.

HP

 

7 Comments

  1. After reading your review, I would not touch the book with a barge pole. I have also enjoyed “Thirty Nine steps” and “The Man Who Was Thursday”. Chesterton’s “The Napoleon Of The Notting Hill” and Father Brown stories are equally enjoyable.

    • honoriaplum says:

      I have bought a copy of The Napoleon Of The Notting Hill and am poised to start reading, but will also be dabbling in Dickens (for the first time) over the Christmas break.

  2. […] piece was originally written and posted in ‘December 2011 at my Plumtopia page, which is now solely dedicated to celebrating P.G. Wodehouse. I’ve […]

  3. honoria plum says:

    Reblogged this on Writer's Workbook and commented:

    A another piece from the archives for your perusal while I concentrate on my NaNoWritMo novel. Slightly behind where I shoud be, but hanging in there.

  4. I’ve also had this on my ‘must read one day’ list but also won’t bother, as by now I have a strong respect for your literary judgement.

    ‘The Riddle of the Sands’ is rather a nice one in similar (setting not style) vein if you haven’t discovered it yet.

    • honoria plum says:

      Thanks for the vote of confidence . I do like the genre . But it was like John Buchan without the subtlety , or intelligence. I suspect Buchan shared some of Sapper’s prejudices, but could at least tell a fine story without hitting us over the head with them .

  5. Forgot to add – ‘Leave It To Psmith’ – possibly my all time favourite PGW. You have such good taste.

Leave a Reply

Valentine’s Day

February 14th, 2016
P.G. Wodehouse died on this day 1975

P.G. Wodehouse’s Birthday

October 15th, 2016
P.G. Wodehouse was born on this day (1881)

Wodehouse Society Convention

Washington DCOctober 19th, 2017
6 months to go.
Jessica Fellowes

Author & Speaker

Adventures Of a Traveller

The Journey is the Destination

John Lagrue's Blog

Musings on life

THAT'S ENTERTAINMENT!

Sitcoms, Musicals, Films, Xena, & More

Kate Macdonald

about writing, reading and publishing

Blog in Bath

impressions of life in Bath, Somerset

Zanyzigzag's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

ybrumro

Thoughts of a welsh brummie.

viceandvirtueblog

The London Music Hall's 1850-1939

